overweight conversions

the thinker

I am surprised at the lack of knowledge when it comes to the subject of 'payload' and also the number of self conversions that are STILL registered as commercial vans.
Surely self convertors have done their due diligence?

Littleoldman

OK need some advice here please. The van's mostly finished except for decals which I'm working on at the moment. I need the van weighed!!!!! Can a van MOT center do this by weighing both axles or does it need to go on a weighbridge? My local MOT center weighed it when the MOT was done in June. Added the bed and the fridge since. Would the 2 axle weight done in a MOT garage be adequate for the DVLA when I apply for reclassification? You can tell I'm new to this. I have taken trikes to VOSA when I rode them but I'm a novice now. I have self built 2 bungalows and 2 houses, but strangely never had to weigh them!!!!!!!!!!!!!

the thinker

Good questions The building bungalows etc its an architects/structural engineers job to determine so its not relevant to your van conversion.