My electrical help thread

devonian

So finally I have nearly all the electrical supplies I need (I think) and I popped down to screwfix yesterday to get a decent wire cutter crimper (a CK one) and a multimeter so I can now begin to attack this job...but... there is a problem.. I haven't got a clue what I'm doing and I've never done any electrical work before so this is why I've created this thread so if anyone is kind enough to answer my hopefully not too many questions it would be very much appreciated.

First up my diesel heater live wire has a 15 amp fuse already attached should I still have another one when I run it to my blade fuse box? Or should I cut it off an just have the fuse on the fuse box for it? I am going to have to cut the wire anyway as the 'ring' terminal on the end is too big for to fit into the fuse box. Picture below. Thinking about it my fantastic vent is fused as well so same question there really.

Also I found this blue wire at my workplace not exactly sure on the thickness but its at least 6mm and it is stranded do you think it will do for feeding my compressor fridge? I shall be getting a Vitrifrigo C39i. Sorry about lack of focus.

Attachments

WildVan

Hi,
Heater - if you connect it to your fuse box cut it off. I’d suggest it had its own fuse so that if it blows you know it is the heater that did it.
My own heater is connected directly to my leisure battery, so I kept the fuse. This way my heater does not need reprogramming ( timer) and does not go through it’s test routine every time I switch the van power back on.

6mm cable will be fine for the fridge. Either 6mm2 or 6mm diameter, you didn’t specify but both are ample. When you see the cable you will wire into on the fridge, yours is beefier. The point being with a 12v system you want to minimise power lose over longer runs. Thicker cable minimises power loss. Obviously make sure you label + and - as they are not coloured red and black.

good luck.

Littleoldman