Help me please.

Jaymmt4623

Hi guys,

I am Jamie.

I hope this message finds everyone safe and well during these difficult times.

I am after some intitial advice on purchasing a vehicle to covert. Complete newbie to van life.

I am looking for a van to convert to use on weekends regularly for camping and taking bikes etc. Then during holidays to be able to go further afield into Europe.

I know about Sprinters and VWs but wanted to know if there is any other makes/models that people reccomend. Also if MWD vs LWB makes a massive difference?

My budget is up to £10,000 for the van and would need to sleep myself and my partner as a minimum.

Thank you in advance.

Jamie

david.c.hall

As you will see I have a Fiat Ducato L4H2.
All the Sevel vans (Fiat, Peugeot and Citroen) are wider inside than the MB, VW, and Ford options. and have a squarer box in which to build.
They are also galvanised unlike Ford and all but the latest MB vans.
If you look on any dealers forecourt you will see that they make up the majority of converted vans.
Mine is the longest Ducato ( 6.3 meters) with quite a long wheelbase, but is quite manoeuvrable and parkable.
The L3 at 6 meters has the same wheelbase and so is much the same to drive without the extra 0.3 meters on the body.
They also do an L2 if you don't have room for L3/L4.
Just my preference
David

BigStevie

Hi Jamie and welcome to the forum.

As David has pointed out above, the most popular vans by far are the Seval vans, for the reasons mentioned.