Connection to starter battery

jmatosp

As I wait for some better weather, decided to tackle a bit of electricity.

I'm installing a part electrical, one battery and a DC-DC charger, this is so I can have some lights and a fan to do some work.
I'm not an expert but I think the wiring is sort of correct, although I run out of wire again...

This is a temporary board;
100A Lithium Battery;
All cabling is 110A rated (16mm2);
There's a 16mm2 cable running from a 50A circuit breaker from the starter battery, this should connect to IN on the DC-DC charger;
Missing positive and negative cable to the fuse box;
Should I ground from the negative busbar to the chassis?
I need to connect the DC-DC charger to starter battery to setup and only then turn on the leisure battery;
Battery monitor shunt in place but not the dial thingy, should work without this;
Panel back (+) & (-) cables connect to the battery;
There's a 100A MEGA fuse at the battery (switch first);
40A MIDI fuses to each circuit, at the moment DC-DC charger and Load;

Does this looks OK? Any suggestions?

Attachments

BigAldo

You ask about grounding the negative busbar to the chassis. If you're using a shunt for the battery monitor, this would normally be in the negative cabling, and all current return paths (charging and discharging) should run through this to ground.
If you then ground the busbar, you will be providing an alternative path to ground, bypassing the shunt. The battery monitor will not read correctly if only part (or none) of the current is going through the shunt.
(and this assumes i've read your explanation correctly.)

jmatosp

Thanks for the explanation, its now more obvious that negative from busbar should not connect to chassis.

mrmoosehead

I still haven't done all my reading about the elektrikery in mhomes yet. Are you saying that all circuits should be made via cabling, and none should use the bodywork to ground (like most other auto electrics?)

jmatosp